National Assembly of France National Assembly of France

National Assembly of France

The Assemblée Nationale form, with the Senate, Parliament of the Fifth French Republic. Its members are the députés, whose primary role is to debate, amend and pass laws. The National Assembly is located in the Palais Bourbon in Paris.

The Palais Bourbon is on the Quai d'Orsay in the 7th district of Paris. It was built for Louise Françoise de Bourbon, Mademoiselle de Nantes, legitimate daughter of Louis XIV and Madame de Montespan, who had married Louis III de Bourbon-Condé, 6th Duke of Bourbon and the Prince de Condé. Built between 1722 and 1728, he became the property of the Prince of Condé in 1764, which enlarged it as a vast palace.

It was under Napoleon in the early 19th century that stood twelve columns. The triangular pediment is in the form of a horse, giving to the Legislature the flags taken at Austerlitz. It was modified under the July Monarchy in France between Liberty and Public Order. At the foot of the stairs, four statues are erected, representing: Maximilien de Sully, Jean-Baptiste Colbert, Henri François d’Aguesseau and Michel de l'Hospital.

Nearby activities

Discover Paris

Paris offers its visitors thousands of different faces, depending on the corners visited and the time of day that you visit. There are therefore many ways to discover and fall in love with it.